Adoption in Nevada

Adoption in Nevada

Everyone has different reactions to finding out they’re pregnant. Some women will be delighted; others will feel shocked or worried. Everybody will need time to think and gather some information and advice about what to do next…

If you do not want to terminate the pregnancy and you do not want to parent, you can choose to place your baby for adoption instead. Adoption is a healthy and loving choice and can be a great experience with the help of professional, compassionate support!

If you decide to place your baby up for adoption in Nevada, you will no longer have parental responsibility for them. You will relinquish your parental rights and they will be transferred to your child’s adoptive family. Once adoption is finalized with an adoption order, it is final and permanent.

Adoption in Reno

Adoption in Las Vegas

Unplanned Pregnancy Help

Adoption in Nevada

Nevada Adoption Laws & Statutes

Who Can Adopt in Nevada?

Any adult who is at least ten years older than the child if adopting a minor may adopt. If the adoptee is an adult, any adult who is older than the adoptee may adopt.

Can adoptive parents advertise for birth parents?


Can out-of-state residents finalize an adoption?


Can adopting parents use an adoption facilitator or another paid intermediary?

Yes, but only a licensed individual may act as an adoption facilitator.

What birth parent expenses may be paid, and in what time period?

Medical, legal, counseling, necessary living.

Is there a putative father registry?


When can consent to adoption be granted?

72 hours after birth.

When does consent become irrevocable? If consent is revoked, is return to birth parent automatic?

After signing.

Are post-adoption contact agreements legally enforceable?

Both parties (the adopting parents and the birth parents) may petition to the court, but contact must begin at most 120 days after the agreement was reached.

Nevada Open Records Statutes

Is there an adoption registry?

Yes, Nevada’s Division of Child and Family Services offers Nevada Adoption Registry Services.

Who may access information about an adoption?

Adoptees age 18 or older, birth parents, and persons related within the third degree to the adoptee may register for the exchange of identifying information. Adoptive parents medical records and medical and sociological history of the child and the birth parents, excluding any identifying information.

Who may apply for an adoptee's original birth certificate (OBC)?

The OBC is available only with a court order.

Find out as much as you can about the adoption process before making the final decision as this is a major life-changing choice for you and your baby.

We would love to answer any of your questions about our program, and to assist you in making an adoption plan that will work for you. Contact Us 24/7: 855-940-4673 (Toll-Free)

Our Nevada Adoption Centers:

Las Vegas Local
Reno Local
Carson City Local

Get More Information