Contact Us 24/7: 855-940-HOPE (Toll-Free) | 702-474-HOPE (Las Vegas) | 775-825-HOPE (Reno) | 775-738-HOPE (Elko) | 775-884-HOPE (Carson City) | Start here

This month, we are excited and honored to welcome a new member to the Adoption Choices of Nevada team: Desi Pohl! She will be working as an Editorial Intern with us for the next six months.

Desi Pohl is a self-proclaimed Colorado native and fellow adoptee. In December 2018, she received her BA in Communications via Grand Canyon University, and is currently pursuing her MA in English as a full-time student online. She enjoys writing short stories and articles focused on women and family issues, mental and physical health, and wellness. One of Desi’s ultimate hopes for her writing is that it reaches readers on a personal level. That it makes a difference in their lives for the better.

Before she begins her regular blogs, I wanted to give her a chance to introduce herself and for you all to get to know her.

RR: When you hear the word,” adoption,” what comes to mind?

DP: When I hear the word “adoption,” the first thing that comes to my mind is me. I was adopted from Romania when I was just nine months old. “Adoption” also makes me think of children in need; I think that it’s wonderful to help children find safe and happy homes, but not every child that’s been adopted has had the ideal experience. The word “adoption” also makes me wonder about other adoptee’s experiences and whether they struggle sometimes with their feelings about being adopted like I do.

RR: What/Who inspires you?

DP: I’m inspired by acts of kindness. Whenever I see or hear about someone going above and beyond to be a good person, it reminds me that there’s still good in the world. For instance, I was eating lunch with my husband today and we saw a gentleman and his adorable dog outside. They looked like they had been through a rough time, so the police officer who ordered his lunch also bought food and drinks for the man and his pup. As I watched the three interact, my eyes filled with tears because I was so happy and proud to believe there are people like this in the world.

RR: What was the last book you read?

DP: The last book I read was The Meg by Steve Alten. When I was in both grade school and high school, I didn’t enjoy much reading because I didn’t like being told what to read instead of choosing a book myself. As an adult, I enjoy reading self-help books, cookbooks and horror stories. I’m currently reading Meg Hell’s Aquarium (also by Steve Alten) because I do love sharks. I think that one of Alten’s best traits as an author is how descriptive he can be. The way that he describes a Megalodon plowing through water can make you feel like you’re watching the terror from afar.

RR: What is the craziest thing you’ve ever done?

DP: I’m not sure that I’ve done too many crazy things just yet. When I was a teenager, I did sneak out one or two times with my friends to go down to Main Street and see boys. I also remember when my cousin and I thought that smoking was cool, so I attempted to roll up a plain piece of paper and light it like an actual cigarette. After one puff I burned my mouth and nose hairs so badly that all I could smell and taste for the next week was smoke and burnt skin. Needless to say, I am no longer a smoker. 

RR: What are you passionate about? Why?

DP: I’m passionate about so many things. I love dogs so much that I volunteer with a rescue when I have time; I help Cane Haven Rescue update their website and social media pages when I can, and I try to attend adoption events when I have time. I’m also passionate about making a positive impact on other peoples’ lives. I enjoy donating my possessions and time to local businesses and fundraisers to help people who are less fortunate. Lastly, I am passionate about swimming. I’ve been a swimmer almost my whole life and, as an adult, I compete in open-water swims in Colorado during the summer. My most recent swim was at Horsetooth Reservoir in Ft. Collins, Colorado about two years ago. I swam two miles in 68-degree water and managed to take home first place in my age group and women’s division.

RR: What are you currently watching on Netflix?

DP: I’ve actually just switched from Netflix to Prime this year, but I used to binge-watch “The Office” and “American Horror Story.” My husband and I still watch “The Office” when it’s on TV because we think it’s hilarious. We haven’t watched every season of “The Office,” but we like being able to quote some of the punch lines. We came to watch “AHS” because so many people we know said that it was a great horror show, but we only watched one season and haven’t been able to catch up with it since. I’m not binge-watching anything on Prime currently, but I do love “Real Housewives of OC” on Tuesday nights.

RR: What did you want to be when you grew up?

DP: When I was younger, I wanted to be a doctor. My adopted mother was a radiology technician and I loved visiting her at work and seeing all the x-rays. Being a doctor to me meant helping people in their time of need and making a difference in their lives. After learning more about what it takes to become even a nurse practitioner, I tried to find another career path that was shorter but that would still allow me to work closely with others. In 2011, I became a medical assistant and worked at Memorial Hospital in Colorado Springs in the cardiology department for almost two years before I decided to be a paralegal. From 2013 to 2016, I worked as a paralegal at a few different law firms. But that’s when I started realizing that working directly for doctors and attorneys was too stressful for me. While I don’t mind working for someone else, I really enjoy working from the comfort of my own home. It allows me to take better care of myself, but still be able to be productive.

RR: What do you enjoy doing when you’re not working? 

DP: When I’m not working, I enjoy spending time with my husband and our three dogs, going to the park with them, and going for hikes. We have an eleven year-old Chiweenie named Elmo, a 10-year-old Rat Terrier named Crystal, and our most recent addition is Chucky the almost-two-year-old Boxer/Bulldog. My husband and I fostered Chucky through a local rescue for about a week before deciding to make him ours forever. If I’m not with my husband or pups, I enjoy spending time with my friends and grabbing coffee or drinks or working out. Due to the numerous orthopedic injuries and surgeries I’ve had, I mostly work out in the pool and try to go three to four times a week. My goal is to swim a marathon next year at Lake Tahoe in Nevada! 

RR: What are your career aspirations?

DP: My career aspirations include working in the field of communications and ultimately being happy. I would be ecstatic to become a writer, editor or teacher and work from home. Even though money isn’t everything, I hope to earn a living that will help supplement my husband’s income so that we can have more children (four or two-legged) later. I aspire to further my knowledge and skills in the writing field; in addition, I hope to work for an employer who sees potential in me. Who values me as a person, and recognizes me as a stellar employee.

RR: Why Adoption Choices?

DP: There are so many reasons why I wanted to join Adoption Choices. Being a fellow adoptee gives me even more insight into the adoption process and allows me to relate with people on a deeper, more personal level. From my first phone call with the company, I could tell we were an excellent fit and I enjoyed the realness that the employees seemed to share. I love that Adoption Choices works with not only families, but expectant mothers as well. When I found out that the company had more than one location, I was hopeful that I’d be able to continue with them even after this internship. I love that my writing has purpose with Adoption Choices and that it’s meaningful. I hope that my writing will speak to readers and that, if I get the chance to share my story, it can help them in some way.

Welcome the team, Desi! We are happy to have you.

About the Author

Rachel RobertsonRachel Robertson is a published journalist, book editor, certified Publishing Specialist, and aspiring novelist. She graduated from Central Washington University (CWU) in March 2011, having found her writing voice within the Creative Nonfiction genre and grew to work as a freelance book editor for small presses all across the United States.

In June 2018, she embarked on an internship with Virginia Frank and came on board with Adoption Choices Inc., Not for Profit 501(c)(3), in December 2018. Between her mutual passion with adoption and surrogacy, and her own personal history with adoption, Rachel is excited to research and share topics each week that will spread awareness and better serve the faithful patrons of Adoption Choices Inc.

When Rachel isn’t haunting her local Starbucks or Barnes and Noble, she’s avidly pouring over her Writer’s Digest subscription or cozying up with a cup of tea and book. She currently resides in the beautiful Pacific Northwest with her beloved wife and Border Collie.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This